The Problem With Money Motivation

Posted on

I sincerely hope that you will be able to associate with what I am going to discuss now.

Some time ago I got into a discussion with one of my friends who was keen to start a career, a business of his own to be specific. I consciously decided to be a good listener, as good as I can be, because I was really keen to read his mind in absolute clarity. I knew if I start giving my views, like many others he will either start speaking my language or he will try to counter my views. I believe I was quite successful in getting pure/raw information as it was in his mind. What I could make out from what he said was this, his primary reason for starting a business was:

Make money or make more money than what his other friends were making.

I really do not consider that as a very strong motivation to choose a field. However, that was not the only thing that was making me uncomfortable. The other thing (and a REALLY IMPORTANT ONE) that I noticed was that he was discussing about all possibilities from starting a software company to starting a training organization. Now what was missing in this jigsaw puzzle was what was the TOOL that will help him achieve what he wanted to achieve. When I asked him the same he had a big question mark on his face. Though he may or may not have liked me asking him this question, but I think at some point he will have to answer this. However, in many cases I have seen people run from one business to another without realizing why they are failing.

This is what I feel helps one succeed or fail in any business:

Though money is not a great motivation if you look at it in isolation, but if you associate money with your STRENGTH or your TALENT as a TOOL, it can really become a real good combination. After all we all work for money but what really helps you move forward and fight your daily battle is your STRENGTH, your TALENT. Money as both short-term and long-term motivation is a HUGE PROBLEM because the ground reality is you have to fight your daily battles and then you will find light(here MONEY) at the end of the tunnel.

God Bless…

Harsh

Leave a Reply

